N3uron Node/ N3uron Redundancy

How Redundancy Works

Description

In this video of our N3uron Academy, we will share with you how Redundancy works in N3uron.

Transcription

[00:00] In this video, we are going to explain how Redundancy works in N3uron. Let’s start by logging into the WebUI and navigating to the Config area located under System, and then proceed to the Redundancy section. Redundancy in N3uron is really quite simple. It works by installing two copies of N3uron on two different computers. One node will act as the primary or master node and the other will be used as the backup. The configuration settings for both nodes are identical as the system will periodically copy across a full backup of the primary node and restore it to the backup node. One important thing to remember about redundancy is that nodes do not have to be installed on the same type of operating system. This means that users can run the primary node on a Windows machine and install the backup node on a Linux machine.

[00:57] The only precaution that users must take for redundancy to work properly is to ensure that the same versions of both the modules and bootstrap are used on both nodes. Now, let’s take a closer look at how it works. As soon as the primary node is started, it will wait for the backup node to connect before the initial standby time is elapsed. Once a connection has been established, the primary node will overwrite the backup node’s configuration settings and stored data. When synchronized, the backup node will move into standby. Should the primary node fail or if the computer were to shut down, the system will automatically fail over to the backup node and continue running there. As soon as the primary node becomes available again, it will re-sync with the backup node and the corresponding configuration settings and stored data will be overwritten with those recovered from the backup node.

[01:50]  At this point, the primary node will switch to active mode, while the backup node will flip back onto standby. It’s important to note that if the primary node fails to connect to the backup node before the configured standby time has elapsed, the primary node will automatically switch to active mode without carrying out data synchronization with the backup node. This could result in the loss of stored data, as well as any configuration changes that were made during the time the backup node was active.

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Youtube
Consent to display content from Youtube
Vimeo
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google
Spotify
Consent to display content from Spotify
Sound Cloud
Consent to display content from Sound